IEEE Components Packaging Materials Technology Society Joins the Council

We welcome CPMT’s society representative, Professor Emmanouil “Manos” Tentzeris, Georgia Tech,and GEDC Associate Director for RFID/Sensors Research.

He received the diploma degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens (“Magna Cum Laude”) in Greece and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA.

Currently a Professor with School of ECE, Georgia Tech, Professor Tentzeris has published more than 500 papers in refereed journals and conference proceedings, five books and 19 book chapters. He has helped develop academic programs in Highly Integrated/Multilayer Packaging for RF and Wireless Applications using ceramic and organic flexible materials, paper-based RFID’s and sensors, biosensors, wearable electronics, inkjet-printed electronics, “Green” electronics and power scavenging, nanotechnology applications in RF, Microwave MEM’s, SOP-integrated antennas and heads the ATHENA research group.

He was a Visiting Professor with the Technical University of Munich, Germany for the summer of 2002, a Visiting Professor with GTRI-Ireland in Athlone, Ireland for the summer of 2009 and a Visiting Professor with LAAS-CNRS in Toulouse, France for the summer of 2010. He has given more than 100 invited talks to various universities and companies all over the world.

He is currently the Head of the GT-ECE Electromagnetics Technical Interest Group and he has served as the Georgia Electronic Design Center Associate Director for RFID/Sensors research from 2006-2010 and as the Georgia Tech NSF-Packaging Research Center Associate Director for RF Research and the RF Alliance Leader from 2003-2006.

He was the recipient/co-recipient of the 2014 Georgia Tech ECE Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award; the 2013 IET Microwaves, Antennas and Propagation Premium Award; the 2012 FiDiPro Award in Finland; the iCMG Architecture Award of Excellence; the 2010 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Piergiorgio L. E. Uslenghi Letters Prize Paper Award; the 2011 International Workshop on Structural Health Monitoring Best Student Paper Award; the 2010 Georgia Tech Senior Faculty Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor Award; the 2009 IEEE Transactions on Components and Packaging Technologies Best Paper Award; the 2009 E.T.S. Walton Award from the Irish Science Foundation; the 2007 IEEE APS Symposium Best Student Paper Award; the 2007 IEEE IMS Third Best Student Paper Award; the ISAP 2007 Poster Presentation Award; the 2006 IEEE MTT Outstanding Young Engineer Award; the 2006 Asian-Pacific Microwave Conference Award; the 2004 IEEE Transactions on Advanced Packaging Commendable Paper Award; the 2003 NASA Godfrey “Art” Anzic Collaborative Distinguished Publication Award; the 2003 IBC International Educator of the Year Award; the 2003 IEEE CPMT Outstanding Young Engineer Award; the 2002 International Conference on Microwave and Millimeter-Wave Technology Best Paper Award; the 2002 Georgia Tech-ECE Outstanding Junior Faculty Award; the 2001 ACES Conference Best Paper Award; the 2000 NSF CAREER Award and the 1997 Best Paper Award of the International Hybrid Microelectronics and Packaging Society.

He was the Chair for IEEE IMS 2008 Symposium and the Chair of the 2005 IEEE CEM-TD Workshop and he is the Vice-Chair of the RF Technical Committee (TC16) of the IEEE CPMT Society. He is the founder and chair of the RFID Technical Committee (TC24) of the IEEE MTT Society and the Secretary/Treasurer of the IEEE Technical Committee on RFID.

He is the Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and TechniquesIEEE Transactions on Advanced Packaging and International Journal on Antennas and Propagation. He is a Fellow of IEEE, a member of URSI-Commission D, a member of MTT-15 committee, an Associate Member of EuMA, a Fellow of the Electromagnetic Academy and a member of the Technical Chamber of Greece. He also served as one of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society Distinguished Microwave Lecturers from 2010-2012.